Career Frontiers

NHUHSD Student Career Exploration Programs 2017-2018
Career Panels • Workshops • Field Trips • Job Shadows

  • Gain career insight and perspective by connecting with workplace mentors in our community.
  • Learn about job and career opportunities that will be available when you enter the workforce in the next 5-10 years.
  • Workshops and panels will be held at both AHS and MHS. Don’t miss out!
  • These workshops are open to ALL Humboldt County Middle and High School Students

2017-2018 Events

  • Thursday, Sept. 7
    Workshop: Latino Family College Information Night
    6:00 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Monday, Sept. 11
    Workshop: SRCHS Family College Information Night
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Tuesday, Sept. 12
    Field trip to Fire & Light
    2:00 - 3:00 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Wednesday, Sept. 13
    Field trip to Bayside Park Farm
    9:00 - 10:00 a.m. | Leaving from MHS/Tsurai High
  • Wednesday, Sept. 13
    Workshop: Family College Information Night
    5:15 - 6:15 p.m. at MHS
  • Tuesday, Sept. 19
    Field trip to Mia Bella Cupcakes and Slice of Humboldt Pie
    12:30 - 2:00 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Thursday, Sept. 21
    North Coast College & Career Expo
    5:30 - 8:00 p.m. at Eureka High School
  • Monday, Sept. 25
    Panel: Educational travel abroad and community service program opportunities
    (AFS, Rotary, Gap Years, CCC, YCC, AmeriCorps)
    6:30 - 7:45 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Wednesday, Sept. 27
    Field trip to Los Bagels
    9:00 - 10:00 a.m. | Leaving from MHS/Tsurai High
  • Wednesday, Oct. 4
    Field trip to Northcoast Grower's Association Farm
    9:00 - 10:00 a.m. | Leaving from MHS/Tsurai High
  • Monday, Oct. 9
    Field trip to Professor Alison Holmes' International Studies Class at HSU
    1:00 - 2:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Monday, Oct. 9
    Panel: Insight about choosing a college major with HSU Career Center staff
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Thursday, Oct. 12
    Field trip to Dick Taylor Chocolate
    12:30 - 2:00 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Monday, Oct. 16
    Panel: Careers in Teaching and Education
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Tuesday, Oct. 17
    Field trip to Professor Hyun You's Childhood Development #366 Class
    10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Tuesday, Oct. 17
    Field trip to Lecturer Virgil Moorehead Childhood Development #256 Class
    2:15 - 3:45 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Tuesday, Oct. 24
    Field trip to Bayside Park Farm or DeepSeeded Community Farm
    12:30 - 1:45 p.m | Leaving from MHS
  • Thursday, Oct. 26
    Field trip to Blue Ox Millworks
    3:15 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Wednesday, Nov. 1
    Field trip to NHUHSD Bus Garage
    9:00 - 10:00 a.m. | Leaving from MHS/Tsurai
  • Monday, Oct. 30
    Panel: Question and Answer session with CA Assemblymember Jim Wood
    2:30 - 3:20 p.m. in the AHS Fine Arts Building
  • Wednesday, Nov. 1
    Field trip to NHUHSD Bus Garage
    9:00 - 10:00 a.m. | Leaving from MHS/Tsurai
  • Thursday, Nov. 9
    Field trip to Wallace & Hinz
    3:15 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Wednesday, Nov. 15
    Field trip to HSU Wildlife 210 Class
    1:30 - 3:20 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Tuesday, Nov. 28
    Field trip to HSU Business 340 Class
    12:30 - 2:30 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Tuesday, Nov. 28
    Panel: Exploring Entrepreneurship & Success in the Workplace
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Wednesday, Nov. 29
    Panel: Introduction to Innovate Business Challenge
    11:30 a.m. - 12:25 p.m. (4th period) in the AHS Library
  • Wednesday, Nov. 29
    Field trip to HSU Business 448 Class
    11:25 - 12:20 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Thursday, Nov. 30
    Panel: Introduction to Innovate Business Challenge
    11:40 a.m. - 1:05 p.m. (5th period) in the St. Bernard's Library
  • Friday, Dec. 1
    Panel: Introduction to Innovate Business Challenge
    1:309 - 2:20 p.m. in the MHS Library
  • Tuesday, Dec. 5
    Panel: Introduction to Innovate Business Challenge
    8:20 - 9:15 a.m. (1st period) AND
    11:35 a.m. - 12:40 p.m. (4th period) in the Eureka High Lecture Hall
  • Wednesday, Dec. 6
    Panel: Introduction to Innovate Business Challenge
    1:35-2:25 p.m. (6th period) in the Fortuna High C4/5 Room
  • Thursday, Dec. 7
    Field trip to Tosha Yoga
    3:15 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Tuesday, Jan. 9
    Panel: MHS Alumni Share Insight about College
    12:45 - 2:15 p.m. in the MHS Multi-Purpose Room
  • Thursday, Jan. 18
    Field Trip to O&M Industries
    3:15 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Thursday, Jan. 25
    Field trip to Wildwood Manufacturing and O&M Industries
    1:30 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Monday, Feb. 5
    Field Trip to College of the Redwoods CTE Classes
    9:15 a.m. - 3:00 p.m. | Leaving from both AHS and MHS
  • Monday, Feb. 5
    Panel: Insight About Jobs and Careers in the Trades, CTE programs at CR
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the MHS Library
  • Monday, Feb 12
    Panel: Insight about Studying STEM Majors in College with HSU Engineering Professor Eileen Cashman & HSU Geology Professor Jasper Oshun
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Tuesday, Feb. 13
    Field Trip to SHN Engineering & Geologists
    3:00 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
For more information about any of these upcoming programs, please contact Jim Ritter at 707-498-2917 or jritter@nohum.k12.ca.us.