Take a Career Frontiers Program Survey

Career Frontiers

NHUHSD Student Career Exploration Programs 2018-2019
Career Panels • Workshops • Field Trips • Job Shadows

  • Gain career insight and perspective by connecting with workplace mentors in our community.
  • Learn about job and career opportunities that will be available when you enter the workforce in the next 5-10 years.
  • Workshops and panels will be held at both AHS and MHS. Don't miss out!
  • These workshops are open to ALL Humboldt County Middle and High School Students

2018-2019 Events

Jump to: September | October | November | December | January | February | March | April | May

  • Thursday, Sept. 6
    Field Trip to Flora Organica Farm
    3:00 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Monday, Sept. 10
    Panel: Gap Year & Educational Travel Abroad Programs
    6:30 - 8:00 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Thursday, Sept. 13
    Workshop: MHS Family College Information Night
    5:15 - 6:15 p.m. in the MHS Multipurpose Room
  • Tuesday, Sept. 18
    Workshop: Exploration of Leadership with Los Bagels
    11:30 a.m. - 12:25 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Thursday, Sept. 20
    North Coast College & Career Expo
    5:30 - 8:00 p.m. at Eureka High School
  • Friday, Sept. 21
    Field trip to HSU Environmental Sciences, Natural Resource Conservation
    8:45 - 10:30 a.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Monday, Sept. 24
    Panel: Careers in the Trades and Introduction to HCOE Trades Academy
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Tuesday, Sept. 25
    Field Trip to O&M Industries
    3:00 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Tuesday, Sept. 25
    Field Trip to HSU Environmental Sciences, Geographic Information Science
    12:30 - 2:30 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Wednesday, Sept. 26
    Field Trip to O&M Industries
    3:15 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Thursday, Sept. 27
    Field trip to Redwood Region Resource Rally (exploring natural resources careers)
    8:00 a.m - 3:00 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Wednesday, Oct. 3
    Field trip to HSU Journalism & Mass Communication
    9:30 - 11:30 a.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Friday, Oct. 5
    Panel: Arcata City Council Candidates Forum
    11:25 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. in the AHS Fine Arts Building
  • Monday, Oct. 8
    Panel: Careers in Teaching and Education
    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Friday, Oct. 12
    Field trip to HSU Geography, Human Geography
    12:30 - 2:30 p.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Tuesday, Oct. 23
    Panel: Exploration of Leadership with Humboldt County Public Health Department
    11:25 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. in the AHS Library
  • Friday, Oct. 26
    Field trip to HSU Botany 1
    7:35 - 9:30 a.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Monday, Oct. 29
    Panel: College Insight from HSU Professors, Dale Oliver, Dean of College of
    Natural Resources & Sciences and Mary Virnoche, Professor and Chair Dept. of Sociology

    6:30 - 7:30 p.m. in the MHS Library
  • Tuesday, Oct. 30
    Panel: Careers & Educational Opportunities in Pharmacy
    10:15 - 11:11 a.m. at MHS*
    *AHS Biology and Community Health Class will travel to MHS for this panel
  • Wednesday, Oct. 31
    Field trip to HSU Psychology, Human Development class with Q&A
    8:30 - 10:30 a.m. | Leaving from MHS
  • Thursday, Nov. 1
    Field trip to HSU Psychology, Young Adults class with Q&A
    8:30 - 10:30 a.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Tuesday, Nov. 6
    Field trip to present at the Humboldt County Board of Supervisors and to tour the
    Humboldt County Elections Department on Election Day.
    8:15 - 11:15 a.m. | Leaving from AHS | Leadership class priority
  • Wednesday, Nov. 7
    Field trip to Blue Lake Casino Food Services Department & Restaurants
    3:00 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS | Culinary students priority
  • Thursday, Nov. 15 (tentative)
    Field trip to Crestmark Architectural Millworks
    3:00 - 4:30 p.m. | Leaving from AHS | Woodshop students priority
  • Monday, Nov. 26
    Field trip to HSU Business, Principles of Marketing class with Q&A
    12:30 - 2:45 p.m. | Leaving from MHS | Personal Finance priority
  • Wednesday, Nov. 28
    Panel: Entrepreneurship/Business & Innovate Business Challenge Competition
    11:25 a.m. - 12:20 p.m.in the AHS Library
  • Wednesday, Nov. 28
    Field trip to HSU Business, Consumer Behavior class
    12:30 - 2:45 p.m. | Leaving from AHS
  • Friday, Nov. 30
    Panel: Entrepreneurship/Business & Innovate Business Challenge Competition
    11:16 a.m. - 12:09 p.m.in the MHS Library
For more information about any of these upcoming programs, please contact Jim Ritter at 707-498-2917 or jritter@nohum.k12.ca.us.